Events 2018-10-01T19:07:29+00:00

Upcoming Events

“The Tragic Effects of Redlining” presentation

Date: October 26, 2018

Time: 1 - 2:30 pm

Location: Mather's - More Than a Café in Chatham (33 E. 83rd St.), Chicago, IL

Join in conversation about Redlined at the Evanston History Center

Date: November 8, 2018

Time: 7 pm (reception starts at 6:30 pm)

Location: The Evanston History Center

Past Events

AAUW Panel: “All in the Family: The Impact of Family in Novels and Memoir”

Date: October 10, 2018

Time: 6 - 8 pm

Location: Harold Washington Library Center Third Floor, Room 3N-6 400 S. State Street, Chicago, Illinois

“All in the Family” will present four authors—Linda Gartz, Francie Arenson Dickenson, Barbara Stark-Nemon, and Iris Waichler—who have used family as a jumping-off point for their books. Award-winning author Michelle Cox will act as moderator. Audience Q&A and book signing will take place afterward.

How did Chicago get so segregated?

Date: September 13, 2018

Find out when Linda talks about Redlined
Thursday, September 13 – 7 pm
at The Book Cellar 

Linda at Northwestern University

Date: August 22, 2018

Linda will be interviewed on August 22, 2018
on the NU Alum Podcast, Intersections
about Northwestern University’s influence
on her career changes and life.
To be posted at a later date. Watch for it here.

Join the Book Club Conversation

Date: August 9, 2018

The National Association of Memoir Writers
discusses Redlined in its
4 PM PDT | 5 PM MDT | 6 PM CDT | 7 PM EDT

“The Impact of Economic Policy on Gender and Race” Join the conversation. Food provided.

Date: July 31, 2018

Time: 5:30 - 9 pm

Location: Box Factory for the Arts, St. Joseph, MI

Keynote speaker at Chicago Writers Ass’n and Il Woman’s Press Ass’n

Date: July 21, 2018

Time: 7 - 10 pm

Location: Hidden Shamrock, 2723 N. Halsted St., Chicago

Come to the summer social of these two wonderful writers’ organizations and hear me speak about Redlined. 

“Meet the Author” – Linda Gartz at 57th Street Books

Date: June 24, 2018

Time: 3 - 4 pm

Location: 1301 E. 57th St., Chicago, IL 60637

Linda will present about Redlined and the long-hidden letters and diaries that inspired her to write about the intimate family struggles that intersected with a racially changing West Side Chicago in the 1960s. Learn more here.

Elmhurst Public Library Local Author Fair

Date: June 23, 2018

Time: 12 - 3 pm

Location: 125 S. Prospect Avenue, Elmhurst, IL 60126

At 1pm, Linda will speak at about Redlined at the Elmhurst Public Library’s “Local Author Fair” in the Kossman Room. Learn more here.